top of page

It all began back in 2006...

...when two boys that happened to be guitar fanatics decided to form their very own heavy metal band.



WORDS OF FAREWELL play Melodic Death Metal, comparable to bands like Scar Symmetry, Dark Tranquillity, Insomnium or Mors Principium est.

The band formed in the German Ruhr District in early 2007. After releasing the two EPs Ashes Of The Coming Dawn and From Now On…, the band produced their first full-length album IMMERSION in 2010. Taken from this production, the song 'Sorae' was uploaded to various internet platforms where fans and musicians sang from the treetops.

In early 2012 Words of Farewell started a cooperation for three full-length albums with the German record label AFM Records from Hamburg. The first official act was the distribution of Immersion in Europe and the United States of America. Countless reviews from both national and international critiques as well as magazines such as LEGACY and METAL HAMMER gave the album highest praise. 


In 2014 Words of Farewell released their second studio album THE BLACK WILD YONDER, on which the band presented more grown-up songwriting. The technical-progressive style is maintained without losing the complexity and playfulness in guitars and keyboards that had been developed on Immersion.

The third studio album A QUIET WORLD was released in 2017. Mixing and Mastering of A Quiet World was done by Eike Freese (Dark Age) at Chamaeleon Studios, Hamburg. The new album had a slightly more progressive tone than the previous albums and was seen as being a musical combination of more classical Progressive Metal with modern Melodic Death Metal as a foundation.


The EP INNER UNIVSERE, the band’s first release after parting with AFM Records on good terms, was released in 2020. Mixing and Mastering was handled by Aljosha Sieg at Pitchback Studios (Any Given Day, Caliban, August Burns Red) and boasted a very modern take on the gerne incorporating more Modern Metalcore elements into the songwriting whilst heavily relying on the trademark guitar and keyboard melodies.


The single release “Whispering Deeps” caught the attention of American label SEEK AND STRIKE. Subsequently the band signed a contract with the label and started to work on the follow-up to their very successful EP. INNER UNIVERSE II was released in 2021 to universal acclaim of the international metal community. The sophomore EP featured the same production history and personnel and is the direct continuation of the more compact and playful song writing.


Words of Farewell’s newest endeavor is the release of the EP STORIES TO FORGET in 2024. The band regards this EP as the best of both worlds, incorporating the most powerful and at the same time most epic songs up to date. Mixed and mastered by Sebastian Sendon, producer for bands such as Periphery, Bleed From Within or Catalyst, the EP displays a perfect balance of their musical range. “A lesser King”, title track to the EP, mesmerizes listeners with an inexorable mix of brutality and emotional expression. To the members, this song is a single in prime condition to lift the band onto the big stages in nowadays’ festival environment.


The live performances of Words of Farewell are energetic and thrilling. The band's experience in live performances has matured over fifteen years of shows, including direct support for e.g. SCAR SYMMETRY and DARK TRANQUILLITY. Words of Farewell played festivals in front of thousands of people together with the likes of INSOMNIUM, THE HALO EFFECT, CHILDREN OF BODOM, SOILWORK and many more. Not least because of these live performances, Words of Farewell were able to sign a powerful endorsement deal with German amplifier manufacturers ENGL AMPS in early 2015. Additionally, the band is part of WACKEN FOUNDATION's roster since 2014.

The band first crossed international borders in 2019. The next international appearance is scheduled for May 2024 at KARMOYGEDDON Festival in Norway.


The band’s self-set long term goal includes playing at the biggest heavy metal festivals such as Wacken Open Air, Metal Days Slovenia, Hellfest and many more. The band is a perfect example that stamina and an everlasting hunger to reach the stars whilst staying true to yourself pays off.

Lineup (from left to right)


Robin Dirks - Lead & Rhythm Guitar

Konstantin Voßhoff - Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals

Leo Wichmann - Keyboards

Alexander Otto - Vocals

Tristan Wegner - Drums

Erik Gaßmus - Lead & Rhythm Guitar

Words of Farewell 2024.jpg
bottom of page